RSS

Wild World and other bitter break up songs- for your listening pleasure.

15 May

Yusuf Islam, formerly known as Cat Stevens was on Colbert tonight. They had a good conversation about why Stephen worshipped him as a younger man but now the Western media has indoctrinated him and he feels he should fear him bc Cat (who sang Father and Son to a younger Stephen but then stopped making music and) became Yusef, a Muslim. Yusef talked about how Islam is all about peace– mentioning that, in fact, that is their most common greeting, Salem (peace). Or as Stern likes to say, Asa lam a laakem.

It’s such an interesting religion- which I’m sure has a lot a wonderful things to offer. I just wish that Allah/GOD/Yahweh/Buddha actually let’s just say ALL the homies that rock it GOD style- I wish they could add an addendum. Just a dash of…Hey everyone, thanks for believing in me– here’s what I have to say, THE most IMPORTANT thing is do unto others as you would have them do unto you, a penis does NOT make you greater than, you should get tax breaks NOT tax freedom and other than that just believe it if you like and leave it if you don’t.

Wouldn’t that be loverly? Anyway, here’s Cat singing a song I love (but it’s funny bc when I listened to it just now, I kind of had my feminist shoes on and it sounds like he’s patronizing me). My last boyfriend did that and it was extremely annoying. I’ll be sure and wear heels tomorrow. 😉


Cat sounds a bit bitter and patronizing no? Not to make broad stroke assumptions 😉
but…having just seen him on Colbert and hearing their great conversation about him becoming Muslim–um…not the best friend to women IMO. So, when I listened to it again it made me think of how that religion treats women and now that’s how I hear that song.

Silly little girl, you’re making a mistake leaving me, I don’t value you for much more than your looks so I think you might have trouble out there. Maybe I just have my feminist shoes on. 😉

Anyway, it’s a beautiful song and I will always enjoy it. I will wear heels tomorrow. 😉

And here’s some more random music bc now I’m thinking about bitter ex-boyfriends.

Some Godlike Grohl for your enjoyment:

And some Pooh, and Chocolate Starfish in the Hotdog Flavored Water: (Not the best “My Way” version, but I couldn’t resist the Pooh.)

Puddle of Mud- Um yeah, She…doesn’t like you: 😉

The gold standard- Greenday- Good Riddance:

And By the Way, some Chili Peppers:

More RHCP- Otherside:

OK, so I like the peppers- Scar Tissue:

And something vintage for the finale- The Break Up Song:

Ah, good times. I also found this cool site where people discuss song lyrics and their meanings. I can’t believe I’ve never found it before bc I’m extremely nosey and if I like a song I ALWAYS want to know how they wrote it, who it’s for, what happened etc. I’ll also mention again bc it needs to be said…WHY aren’t there more songs written about Kim. It’s ridiculously easy to rhyme, unlike Delilah and yet so for we only have Eminem’s ode to Kim and their bitter break up song which I’m not even going to mention. Hmm, this was fun though–I like these music posts bc it’s like a gathering of music for whenever I’m in a particular mood.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on May 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

5 responses to “Wild World and other bitter break up songs- for your listening pleasure.

  1. Chris

    May 15, 2009 at 7:16 pm

     
    • citizenkim

      May 15, 2009 at 8:22 pm

      Chris -WOW- thanks for posting that! What a monster!! I wish Stephen had asked him about that. I wonder if he’s still so radical?

       
  2. Hassan

    May 22, 2009 at 2:19 pm

    No, Yusuf Islam is not a Monster. Colbert didn’t mention that because he knows the context of that situation. The iranian people had just overthrown a secular dictator (like Saddam) and were very defensive about a secular 1st world breathing down their necks. At the time, Yusuf was a new convert, and seeking some legitimate Muslim authority, and giving it it’s due, he gave them the benefit of the doubt. That is, he felt at the time that if a subversive person had commited what was considered a crime, he should be turned in for that crime. It is understandable, seeing as how Islam (specifically the majority sunni islam) has no pope or head authority, that a new convert would want to support wholeheartedly the first Muslim government in 100 years.

    Lets say China invaded America and colonized it for 150 years, abolishing churches and tearing down crosses. And lets say at the end of that 150 years Georgia rebels and establishes a Christian state. I’d imagine a young Chinese convert to Christianity would not only support them, but would condemn whomever Georgia considers a subversive.

    Decades have passed, and Yusuf has since learned that he cannot necessarily grant a government authority over him, just because they say they are Muslim. I mean, Iran is shi’a as well, which means their authority figures have *NO* authority over Yusuf anyway. Sunnis have no holy men or ayatollahs.

     
    • citizenkim

      May 22, 2009 at 6:54 pm

      Hi Hassan–Well, perhaps I should have said that what he said was monstrous. I appreciate your reply and the analogy drawn. It may be understandable to some- but still not so much to me. The problem is religion. It holds the all powerful- “what happens when I die?” card. And as they say…Power corrupts and absolute power corrupts absolutely. I don’t think it’s ok to imprison people w/out trial at Gitmo and I definitely don’t think anyone should be set on fire for what they believe

       
  3. Hassan

    May 22, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    I’d imagine it’s much like what many americans said when Yusuf was barred from entering the US. They said “If bush thinks he’s subversive and dangerous, then i guess he is. And i want him deported or even arrested!” Keep in mind that if the president decides a citizen is treasonous, they have the power to imprison them without trial at Guantanamo, and some Americans are totally fine with that idea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
