RSS

I Hope We All Remember to…

22 May

“…gather around their sacred remains and garland the passionless mounds above them with choicest flowers of springtime….let us in this solemn presence renew our pledges to aid and assist those whom they have left among us as sacred charges upon the Nation’s gratitude,–the soldier’s and sailor’s widow and orphan.” –General John Logan, General Order No. 11, 5 May 1868

And remember the day as suggested here. The “Memorial” in Memorial Day has been ignored by too many of us who are beneficiaries of those who have given the ultimate sacrifice. Often we do not observe the day as it should be, a day where we actively remember our ancestors, our family members, our loved ones, our neighbors, and our friends who have given the ultimate sacrifice:

* by visiting cemeteries and placing flags or flowers on the graves of our fallen heroes.
* by visiting memorials.
* by flying the U.S. Flag at half-staff until noon.
* by flying the ‘POW/MIA Flag’ as well (Section 1082 of the 1998 Defense Authorization Act).
* by pausing for a “National Moment of Remembrance”: at 3 p.m. to think upon the true meaning of the day, and for Taps to be played.
* by renewing a pledge to aid the widows, widowers, and orphans of our falled dead, and to aid the disabled veterans.

Bob Woodruff has a nice piece about remembering veterans who are coming home now. War is hell. The military needs to do a better job of addressing mental health. We need to make sure that these people who served our country are taken care of when they come back. There are many who will need help and not ask for it or ask for it and not get it. Pls find an organization in your community that is helping and find a way to lend a hand. My BFF Stephen Colbert has a nice challenge going on w/donorschoose to help the children of military members. And my BF Paul Reickoff has a great organization here that helps w/all kinds of veteran’s issues. I wrote a bit about him here earlier after reading his great book “Chasing Ghosts” – which, obviously, I highly recommend.

I hope everyone has a great memorial day wkd! I’m getting ready to go to Spain for two weeks! Yea!!!!!!!! I’ve never been there before so I’m thoroughly excited – any one have any Spain tips? I’m a little worried bc my Spanish is sooo high school. Also, I’m a vegetarian and I’m reeally hooping I don’t accidentally dine on swine. Ya know what I’m sayin? In any case SPAIN-SPAIN-SPAIN!!!
Picture 44

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “I Hope We All Remember to…

  1. michellefrommadison

    May 28, 2009 at 10:39 am

    I LOVE that video. Awesome. Thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
